Daily Archives: June 7, 2017

Finished sweater and a birthday ……

We are in the homestretch of school and tomorrow he will be promoted to 9th grade which means high school here.  This year was a bit of a struggle for him and us but other parents have survived worse, we shall survive.

Our son also turned 14 on Saturday and he has the attitude to go with the age.  We had a nice day together and went to his favorite place for dinner.  Time does go quickly so grab what you can and enjoy.  I keep trying to physically hold onto to him but he resist…..LOL!  Here’s a little flash back at his baby cuteness.  Look at that pouty baby bottom lip.

In knitting news I finished my Custom Fit Sweater!!!  It’s a rather shameful story really.  The entire and I do mean the ENTIRE sweater was done.  It was blocked, sewn together, ends woven in, buttons, thread and a pretty ribbon all  purchased and all together in a pretty bag.  My nemesis, the freaking button bands.  I kinda suck at the whole buttonhole thing.  I decided that I needed to overcome that so I proceeded with the directions and put the band with the buttons on the wrong side.  No bid deal, it’s only 10 rows, mission accomplished.  Now for the one with the buttonholes.  Amy Herzog the designer of the Charlie Cardigan said to use an eyelet buttonhole and someone told me the one row buttonhole was better but I hate how fussy it is and I also realized that I NEVER button my cardigans so the eyelet one would do just fine.  Before I knew it I was sewing on the pretty grosgrain ribbon and then the buttons and I just LOVE it!!  Tell me what you think.  I’m currently swatching for another sweater in her custom fit collection.

Had to wait for my son, the photographer, to take some pictures for me.

It’s actually chilly here today so I am wearing it to knit night!

Lastly, the Frederick Fiber Festival will be taking place this weekend and our yarns are sold exclusively in Maryland by Knit Locally.  If you are going please stop by and say Hi to Peggy and let your fingers fondle all the beautiful yarns she is bringing with her!

I’ll see you back here soon!

~Michele

 

 

