In Loving Memory….

I knew that I would write about this at some point, but honestly, the heartache is as fresh as it was one year ago.  I can’t believe that is has been a year since my wonderful Uncle has passed.  My Aunt posted this picture recently and I hadn’t seen it before and I knew it would be perfect for my tribute post about him.

IMG_1039

This is my sweet Uncle Bob and his bride, my Aunt Sandy.  I just love this picture and had to share it.

My Uncle Bob served in the Air Force for 20 years and served the US again for another 20 in the US Postal Service.  He was a sweetie and I miss him every day. He was stationed all over the world and as a young person, I use to think this was a very glamorous life.  He would just laugh, which told me nothing.  Once he retired back home to RI, we got to spend much more time with them and the holidays were filled with family and fun.  I have so many wonderful memories that it truly does fill my heart with joy.

He gave advice in a very subtle and sweet way.  He would never comment on my boyfriends, but when they failed to show up at the next family event, he would give me a thumbs up which meant they weren’t the one.  When I met my husband and introduced them, he did something he had never done in the past, he whispered into my ear, he’s a keeper.  I can’t help but smile when I think about that.  He was right! He always called me Shelly and he was the only one to do so.

I know that he’s watching over all of us that he left behind and rejoicing with the ones who went before him.  We miss you and will see you again….

All my love,

Shelly

Leave a Reply

