Viajante……..

Viajante is a Portuguese word for “traveller”, and a hot pattern on Ravelry right now.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about it when it came out and pretty much had dismissed it as a “not for me” pattern. But then some of my knitting friends were getting jazzed about it and I waited. I waited for people to finish the project and post some pictures.  The pictures were pretty, and I was already smitten about the yarn chosen by the designer, Martina Behm. I was starting to weaken.  I looked at the pattern notes of others and noted the needle size and dismissed it again because of my hand issue. But I went ahead and obtained my prized Wollmeise Lace-Garn for it in a colorway called Amethyst Light. I may have failed to mention that this is done in 1700 yards of lace weight yarn…..insert your cringing face here! I also failed to mentions that it’s knit for a bit on a 2.75 US (3 mm) needle and then the majority is knit on a size #4 US needle.

I have the pattern, the yarn and the needles right here beside me as I type this.  It looks so crazy, but it would be a great public and television knitting project.

I think it will stay on the back burner for a bit. My hand just can’t hold that small of a needle right now and I am making progress and would rather not have a setback now.

Getting my knitting love is my Vitamin D cardigan and I am happily knitting away on it.  This is my first top down sweater and I love that I can try it on as I go.I am using my yarn again, this time I am using my Yankee Tweed in the Wine colorway on Signature needles US #5 and I am loving it. I just might be monogamous with this project.  Here is a sneak peek….

Vitamin D Cardigan byHeidi Kirrmaier

Vitamin D Cardigan by
Heidi Kirrmaier

Please excuse the picture. It is a grey and rainy day and I had to use the flash.

I had planned on hitting the dye pots today, but I much prefer to dye in natural light and today is so gloomy out. So change in plans. I am going to clean up the kitchen and tidy some other neglected areas and then sit and catch up with the rest of the world with Downton Abbey. A friend lent my Seasons 1 and 2 and I have been itching to watch.

Have a wonderful day and I hope the sun is shining where you are!

Michele

 

 

One response to “Viajante……..

  1. ooohhh, can’t wait for you to get caght up on Downton Abby! I LOVELOVELOVE that show. super rainy and gloomy here too…

    Like

Leave a Reply

