Safe and Sound….

We all are fine. It was quite a wild ride and we were very well prepared. That’s half the battle. The other half is keeping busy while all hell breaks loose just outside the door.

We never lost power or the TV…which surprised the heck out of me. The satellite is always the first to go and not even a flicker. So being stuck in the house with TV and electricity was hardly a hardship. It kept hubby and child occupied while I cooked and even had painted some yarn….not at the same time!! Then there was the request of chocolate chip cookies, so, of course I made them. The thing about storms, you eat a lot more food. Well, they did at least. Another New England tradition for us is the making of doughboys last night whenever there is a storm…ususally snow…but we aren’t picky…any storm will do.

I found staying busy in the kitchen helped me with the anxiety of what is going on outside. I didn’t settle down to knit until almost 8:00 pm.

Today was rest day for me. I awoke to calmer winds and lighter rains. As soon as my feet hit the floor, I threw open the curtains to see what had happened to the yard…..a big, fat, nothing. When Irene blew through last year, we lost a huge tree that fell right outside out bedroom window and never heard it. That’s what freaks me out about these storms when the worst is at night. You can’t see anything and everything sounds like something not great.

I was also surprised that the mailman delivered mail today. Gotta love the mailman. He brought be an order from Knit Picks and some yarn for a hat that I wanted to make my hubby that apparently I had completely forgotten about. I am still thinking about when I ordered it??? Brain cramps….??? Anyway, he was giving me grief until I said, Oh, I ordered this for YOU! Yes, the tune changed on a dime. I also apparently forgot what pattern I was going to do, but my friend Angie, who knows me too well, proceeded to tell me what pattern I was going to do. Thanks, Angie!!! So hubby has two (2) new hats headed….get it…headed….his way. I just cracked myself up. I must need to get out of the house and be with other people. Ok, so hubby is getting 2 hats for our anniversary since those socks won’t be done for some time.

Well, that’s enough excitement for this gal. I am headed for the couch and a little knitting. House is a little crazy at the moment, not sure that this is optimal knitting time.

For those of you still suffering the effects of Sandy, you are in our thoughts and prayers.

Happy it’s all over for now day!

Michele

 

Leave a Reply

