Daily Archives: November 7, 2014

The Meatball debacle…..

Hi folks..

IMG_0582

I have to share a funny story about the weekend that I went to Rhinebeck for the New York Sheep and Wool festival.  I wanted my boys to have a nice dinner on Saturday so I pulled out the crockpot and put the homemade sauce in it the night before so the only thing that hubby had to do was turn it on and later put in the meatballs.  My son’s favorite thing in the world to eat is meatballs.

I have to admit that I am an enthusiastic cook and make pretty much everything from scratch and this included meatballs.  I did the unthinkable and purchased frozen meatballs because I just didn’t have the time to make them and I figured in a pinch it would be fine.  Well, it wasn’t fine at all.

My son asked me if I was trying to kill him??  Dude, I was still in my Rhinebeck coma when he asked and immediately asked, why??  Then the rant began about how bad they were and there were lots of gagging noises to go along with the meatball drama.  I was sitting there with a big cup of coffee and said, “So, you didn’t like them?”….. just to hear the rant one more time.  I got it kid, the meatballs sucked.

I came up with a plan to make a huge batch of meatballs.  I mean two big cookies trays of meatballs and the freezer was going to get involved.  So I stood there rolling meatballs and rolling meatballs.  I baked them.  Threw some in the sauce that was in the crockpot and the rest in the freezer.

Child came home from school and said YUM when he walked thru the door and then did an about face and before he could get the words out I said, YES THEY ARE HOMEMADE!!!!  I feel like we now have a meatball trust issue going on!

In other news, the painter is here and the sunroom is getting its unexpected makeover.  New door, new paint, new carpet and new couch.  Progress is a good thing.

I am back to knitting on the sweater and I seem to be in the 2 inch black hole of knitting.  I hope emerge from it really soon because I want to wear it for Thanksgiving.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend!!  I will see you back here soon!

Best,

Michele